State Support Team Region 12 News Article

Special Education and Outstanding Student Awards

Interested in nominating an outstanding educator or student? Learn more about the awards and nominations below.

Franklin B. Walter Outstanding Educator Award
The Franklin B. Walter Outstanding Educator Award is given to an educator or team from each of the 16 State Support Teams in Ohio who have made extraordinary contributions to the education of students with disabilities. This award is given in honor of the late Franklin B Walter, Superintendent of Public Instruction from 1977 until 1991, a post held longer than any other state superintendent in Ohio’s history. With over 50 years of service as a teacher and administrator, Dr. Walter’s leadership is evident in many of Ohio’s quality educational initiatives and programs. Among these is the development of the nation’s first statewide plan for children with disabilities.

R.A. Horn Outstanding Achievement Award for a Student
The R. A. Horn Outstanding Achievement Award for a Student is presented to one exemplary special education student from each of Ohio’s 16 State Support Team regions. This award was established 25 years ago by the Ohio Department of Education in honor of the late Dr. Raymond A. Horn, Assistant Superintendent of Public Instruction Emeritus. This prestigious award recognizes students’ remarkable performance. Acknowledged as a national leader in the field of special education, Dr. Horn devoted more than 60 years of service to improving the quality of life and learning for students with disabilities. Dr. Horn left behind a legacy and a challenge to ensure that every student with a disability be given the respect and the opportunities to which they are entitled.

Please contact Susan Larson at [email protected] or 740-439-9383, ext. 2307.

Print This Article
© 2024. State Support Team Region 12. All Rights Reserved.